Xpode.com        Click here to Print this article.

Capability Maturity Model

The Capability Maturity Model for Software is a model for judging the maturity of the software processes of an organization and identifying the key practices that are required to increase the maturity of these procsses.

CMM = 'Capability Maturity Model', now called the CMMI (Capability Maturity Model Integration, developed by the SEI (Software Engineering Institute). It's a model of

Levels of the CMM
Level 1 - Initial
Level 2 - Repeatable
Level 3 - Defined
Level 4 - Quantitatively Managed
Level 5 – Optimizing

Initial : Few processes are defined, and success depends on individual hard-work & efforts

Repeatable:  The necessary project management processes are established to repeat earlier successes on projects.

Defined: The software process for both management and engineering activities is integrated into a standard software process for the organization which is used as a standard process for developing and maintaining all software projects

Quantitatively Managed: Detailed measures of the software process and products are collected. Both the software process and products are quantitatively understood and controlled

Optimizing: Continuous process improvement is enabled by quantitative feedback from the process and by piloting innovative ideas and technologies


Contributed by:
Rohit kakria
I am software developer, moderator of xpode.com

Resourse address on xpode.com

Click here to go on website